News - HDCL ED BURN T20 2020 ELITE DIV CHAMPIONS - Royal Challengers Cricket Club
View News

HDCL ED BURN T20 2020 ELITE DIV CHAMPIONS - Royal Challengers Cricket Club

12-25-2020POSTED BY Ranjit Chaudhri

HDCL ED BURN T20 2020  ELITE DIV CHAMPIONS - Royal Challengers Cricket Club

Royal Challengers Cricket Club (RCC), in its second year in HDCL, were crowned HDCL T20 2020 Ed Burn Champions in Elite Division. RCC lifted the championship trophy by defeating Brantford Cricket Club (BCC) in one of the most exciting, thrilling and high scoring finals. Batting first, BCC got off to a flier with openers Manpreet Aujla and skipper Mansimran Singh posted 88 runs in 8.3 overs opening wicket partnership to set the tone for an imposing total. After the loss of Mansimran at his individual score of 37 runs, RCC further put dents into BCC inning by picking up three more wickets in quick succession including that of opener Manpreet who made 59 runs from 40 balls. However, Tarun Dhingra didn't let loss of 4 wickets change his approach to his inning and smashed 63 not out runs in only 25 balls that featured only 2 fours but 7 towering sixes. Rupinder Singh chipped in with a quickfire 38 runs from 17 balls to close Brantford innings at 203 for 7 in 20 overs. For RCC, Sandeep Sharma was most economical and successful bowler with figures of 4-0-23-2 wkts while all other bowlers suffered at the hands of BCC batters.

Royal Challengers batters didn't let the imposing total dent their intent in anyway possible as they had their sights set on maiden championship. Openers Sandeep Sharma with quickfire 31 from 22 balls & Gurtej Bhullar with 28 from 13 balls put on 44 for 1st wicket in first 4 overs thus setting up a solid path for other batters. Next batter Jenish Kanabar continued attack on BCC bowlers and scored a quick 33 in 19 balls to put RCC at 84 for 2 in only 6.5 overs. With loss of openers and two more wickets - RCC inning got a jolt. However, Simran Singh (Man of the Match) 67 runs with 2 fours and 7 huge sixes and Rupinder Singh with 38 runs made sure RCC reached the required target of 203 with 5 balls to spare. Only Vivek Punjabi for BCC had any impact with bowling with a figures of 4-1-19-2 wkts.

Congratulations to Royal Challengers Cricket Club on winning HDCL Ed-Burn T20 Elite Division Championship in 2020 and good luck for 2021 season!!

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login