News - HDCL Ed Burn T-20 Premier Division 2020 Champions - Brantford Cricket Club
View News

HDCL Ed Burn T-20 Premier Division 2020 Champions - Brantford Cricket Club

12-29-2020POSTED BY Ranjit Chaudhri

HDCL Ed Burn T-20 Premier Division 2020 Champions - Brantford Cricket Club

Brantford Cricket Club (BCC), after bagging HDCL Premier Division 40 overs championship, stormed into Premier Division T20 final with dominating performances in preliminary T20 matches. BCC faced Oakville Cricket Club in the final and chose to bat first with an intent of posting in imposing total for OCC to chase. Opening the innings was skipper Mansimran Singh and Manpreet Aujla, BCC started bit cautiously and lost 1st wicket at the score  of 46 in the 8th over. The fall of wicket brought a change in tactics for BCC as Manpreet was joined by Navjot Gill. This pair put on 115 runs for 2nd wicket in less than 9 overs. When Navjot fell at his personal score of 33, BCC score read 161 for 2 after 16.1 overs. Manpreet kept his paddle on the gas and continued to take full advantage of smaller boundaries and punished every OCC bowler. Manpreet reached a well compiled aggressive century of 50 balls and eventually got out in 19th over at his personal score of 116 of 55 balls that included 8 fours and 11 sixes. Tarun Dhingra stoked 29 quick runs in last couple of overs with the help of 4 sixes to leave OCC with a total of  221 for a win in 20 overs which required some batting to achieve. For Oakville CC, young fast bowler Dhir Shukla with 2 wicket for 39 and Hashim Muhammad, who was able to send a maiden over and took 1 wickets for 34 runs in his 4 overs, were the most successful bowlers.

In pursuit of the mammoth total, OCC were never able to come close to the required run-rate as they kept losing wickets at regular interval. Only Muhammad Tanzeel Ali with 40 of 31 balls and Nashrullah Syed with 24 of 28 balls put up some resistance. OCC ended up with final score of 138 for loss of 6 wickets thus handing Brantford CC a well deserved T20 Premier Championship by 82 runs. For BCC, after the batters doing their part, every bowler did their part in restricting OCC well within the target of 221.

Manpreet Aujla was awarded Man of the Match award for his 116 runs.

Congratulations to Brantford Cricket Club on being the only club to clean sweep Premier division championships in season 2020.

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login